Nintendo Switch Online automatic renewal text is funny

Our family’s Nintendo Switch Online account was about to expire, so I went ahead and renewed it with the Expansion Pack so we’d get the Animal Crossing DLC; anyhow, here is their hilarious text describing how the sbscription works, and particularly what happens if you do not auto-renew:

About Automatic Renewal

Payment / Subscription term

$79.99 / 365 days

(subject to applicable taxes)

Fixed Term Type

Unless otherwise communicated to you at the time of initial purchase or redemption, a Fixed Term Type Subscription will renew automatically for the automatic renewal term at the then-current price, plus applicable taxes (“Subscription Amount”), unless and until you turn off automatic renewal. Please note that special offers that are applicable to the initial term may not carry over to the next term or any following terms.

The Subscription term is counted in minutes.

For certain services, it may be possible for you to purchase an additional Subscription when you already have an active, automatically renewing Subscription.

In such cases, the term and price for the renewal will match the term and price of the Subscription that was purchased last.

Regarding Payment

Payment Method for Automatic Renewal

Automatic renewal is a feature that allows a pass or membership (each referred to as “Subscription”) to renew automatically with no need to manually extend the Subscription term or purchase a new one. If automatic renewal is set, your subscription will automatically renew for successive periods matching the automatic renewal term at the then-current price, plus applicable taxes (“Subscription Amount”), unless you turn off automatic renewal. If you already have an automatically renewing Subscription and purchase another Subscription for the same service on Nintendo eShop but with a different term and price, the term and price for the renewal will match the term and the Subscription Amount of the Subscription that was purchased last. The Subscription Amount will be deducted from your Nintendo Account funds no sooner than 48 hours before your Subscription is set to expire, unless you turn off automatic renewal.

If you do not have sufficient funds, you authorize Nintendo to charge the Subscription Amount to the payment method you provide at the time you sign up for a Subscription or to the payment method you store in your Nintendo Account (“Payment Method”). You can see the deadline to turn off automatic renewal by selecting Shop Menu in your Nintendo Account settings, then selecting Nintendo Switch Online. Your Payment Method is shown on the final purchase screen when purchasing an auto-renewing Subscription.

You can change your Payment Method at any time by selecting the Shop Menu in your Nintendo Account settings. Users under 18 years of age cannot set a Payment Method, and therefore the Subscription Amount can only be deducted from their available Nintendo Account funds. If insufficient funds are available for these customers at the time of automatic renewal, the Subscription will not automatically renew.

Turning Off Automatic Renewal

You can turn off automatic renewal under Nintendo Switch Online within the Shop Menu in your Nintendo Account settings or under Nintendo Switch Online in Account Information on Nintendo eShop on your device at any time up to 48 hours before the end of the then-current period to avoid the renewal of your subscription and billing of the subscription amount. When you turn off automatic renewal, your subscription will remain active until the end of its term and you will not receive any refunds or credits.

Your Subscription may be terminated by Nintendo if you have insufficient funds and no Payment Method has been set for automatic renewal on the date a payment is due or if payment is unsuccessful for any other reason. Subscription and automatic renewal are subject to the Nintendo Account User Agreement (available at Nintendo Account), including the Purchase and Subscription Terms (available at Purchase and Subscription Terms - Nintendo - Official Site).

You can turn off automatic renewal by selecting Shop Menu in your Nintendo Account settings, then selecting Nintendo Switch Online, or by selecting Nintendo Switch Online in Account Information on Nintendo eShop on your device.

Additional Information

You cannot change the country/region of your Nintendo Account while automatic renewal is turned on. In order to change your country/region settings, you must first turn off automatic renewal for all Subscriptions.

Important information about your automatic renewal(s) will be sent to the e‑mail address registered to your Nintendo Account. If an account for a child is being used, this information will be sent to the e‑mail address registered to the parent or guardian’s Nintendo Account.

Discontinuing Automatic Renewal

If you purchase or redeem a new membership while you or a family-group member has automatic renewal turned on for Nintendo Switch Online, automatic renewal will be turned off for the discontinued membership.

If the membership you purchase or redeem is an individual membership (+ Expansion Pack)

Automatic Renewal will be turned off for:

・Individual membership (no Expansion pack)

If the membership you purchase or redeem is a family membership (no Expansion Pack)

Automatic Renewal will be turned off for:

・Individual membership (no Expansion Pack)
・Family-group members’ individual memberships (no Expansion Pack)
・Family-group members’ individual memberships (+ Expansion Pack)

If the membership you purchase or redeem is a family membership (+ Expansion Pack)

Automatic Renewal will be turned off for:

・Individual membership (no Expansion Pack)
・Family-group members’ individual memberships (no Expansion Pack)
・Individual membership (+ Expansion Pack)
・Family-group members’ individual memberships (+ Expansion Pack)
・Family membership (no Expansion Pack)
・Family-group members’ family memberships (no Expansion Pack)

If a user with automatic renewal turned on for Nintendo Switch Online joins a family group, automatic renewal will be turned off based on the combination shown above.
If multiple users in a family group have automatic renewal turned on for a shared family membership, automatic renewal will be turned off for all users except the one who last completed a membership payment transaction.
Automatic renewal will be turned off on the date of the first user’s completed transaction.

I agree that my subscription will automatically renew, and I will be charged on a recurring basis at the price and terms specified above, unless I terminate automatic renewal at any time up to 48 hours before my subscription renews.

Ah, okay. I was wondering if we would be able to combine the preceding two lists, to make them more helpful…